The Beauty Inside…

July 20, 2016 at 6:18 pm Leave a comment

Last week I had a chance to spend time with my biological sister and my wonderful sorority sisters of Alpha Kappa Alpha. It was our aka_ladiesbiennial  conference and thousands of us descended onto Atlanta, Georgia. It was a beautiful sight, and connecting with each other, some who I hadn’t seen in two years, was just great. My sorors are part of my extended family.

However I also thought about my biological sister and how blessed I am to have her in my life. I know there are families where sisters don’t get along or support each other. I’m the oldest, and when I was growing up, my mother told me to look out for my sister. I never forgot my mother’s words and we continue to look out for each other.

I also look out for my “girls” – ladies I grew up with and those who are more recent friends. That’s something we were raised with, but I don’t think it’s being taught anymore. Look out for your family, friends, or neighbors. It’s about me and nothing more. That’s probably why there are the random acts of violence taking place all over the world instead of random acts of kindness.

Do me a favor. Smile at someone as you walk down the street. Hold the door open for a perfect stranger. Let a car pull out in front of you and instead of cursing, give them a friendly nod. Sisterliness begins with me and I’m paying it forward. Quote-on-sisters

Interested in learning more about your family’s dynamics? Contact me – Ms. Parent Guru to receive information about my inspiring parenting programs for aging parents, Mothers and Daughters or Mothers and their Sons. Click Here to become a part of my parenting community.

While we may come from different walks of life, as women young and old, we share common challenges, goals and passions. If you want to share the love with girls and other womenfolk join me on August 14, 2016 by attending my Mom & Me  Tea, designed to provide a setting where girls and their caregivers can enjoy an afternoon of communication, culture and fun together. Register here.

C. Lynn Williams, #MsParentguru

Family Dynamics Strategist, Coach & Author
http://www.clynnwilliams.com

 

Entry filed under: #MsParentguru, acceptance, conversation, girls, Parenting, sister, sisters, support, Women.

Gun Violence Begins at Home Discipline Disparity Between Black Boys & Everybody Else’s Son

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Upcoming Events

MsParentguru’s Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18,225 other followers

Goodreads Author Reads

Blog Stats

  • 8,465 hits

Contact Info

(224) 357-6315
Online: 8a.m. - 8p.m.

Author’s Webchat


myreporteriad.wordpress.com/

Inspire. Aspire. Declare.

USA TODAY College

Preparing students for tomorrow with USA TODAY

tembceducation

"From Crayon to Career" Resources to provide sustainabilty to your educational practices and training

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

You can't argue with crazy

Migraines suck, and other tidbits of my life!

The Icognito Writer

It was a land of magic; filled with wonder..

FiveThirtyEight

Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about politics, sports, science, economics and culture.

